Cold Snap

You’ve all probably seen the news and are experiencing wacky weather of your own. Thus, I’m sure you know that people are dying of the cold in Russia and you probably even know that Algeria got snow the other day. But I’m going to take a wild guess and say you probably haven’t heard about the funky weather here.

I know what you’re thinking, “Really? A post about the weather? Of all the things?” But honestly guys, it’s been crazy here. Starting Monday it’s been COLD. By which I mean it’s been maybe 60 degrees Fahrenheit. That’s cold for here though and therefore cold for us now. (Minnesota may kill me…) It’s been cold, overcast and windy. All the wind kicks up all the dirt that lies around too, so everything is hazy and dusty. It even (briefly/lightly) RAINED on Monday night. So not normal. Yep folks, I think we’re really proving here that climate change is just a theory created to encourage strife and fill scientists’ bank accounts.

Anyways, it’s been strange, though I have guiltily enjoyed the break from Bamako’s oppressive heat. If this keeps up, we could have a comfortable drive to Djoliba! Also, it’s amusing to see everyone bundled up in jackets against the cold.

Apparently, the news has hit Bamako that white people don’t feel cold. Ever. On my sotrama the prontike was amazed that I was comfortable without a jacket. Emilia was also told by a little boy that she was a very “brave and strong woman” because she didn’t get cold. He continued that he thought he’d probably die in the cold, the snow would kill him. So, plus of being a toubabou, you will survive in lower temperatures. I think anyone from Bamako would too, so long as they have a good coat, but I’ll take credit where it’s given.

In other news, Mali just lost their match against “Les éléphants” de Côte d’Ivoire. Unfortunate, but predictable, the Ivoirians are total beasts on the field, and the Malians were all conserving their strength for later games with their European teams. Honestly, everyone was very pleasantly surprised that they made it this far, and all the supporters interviewed on the news said that they were proud of the players who “played well,” and did their best. They will play Ghana to determine 3rd and 4th place, as Côte d’Ivoire tries it’s luck with Zambia. Luckily both the games will be on Sunday, so I’ll get to see the final CAN matches. I’ll be kinda sad when it’s over. It’s been fun, a good conversation starter, and the source of a lot of dynamism in my house.

I think I’ll have to get a Seydou Keita sticker before things settle down…just for fun. I mean…we are from the same clan, and he’s definitely made of awesome.

About malloryguinee

blogger, wanderluster and coffee drinker striving daily for guts, spunk, and moxie.
This entry was posted in Mali 2012, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

